My Mina’s Doctor Who Birthday Party

The life sized Tardis

We had Mina’s birthday party today. After a week of working on homemade decorations and treats, it is nice to finally be done.  Though I think the lack of sleep in the past few days is catching up with me. I actually dozed off for a second after writing the first sentence of this post.

Different view of room and decorations. We had mini Tardises on all the walls.

I woke up this morning and got cleaning and working on our treats right off the bat. We had so much to do to get ready since I didn’t get as much accomplished during the week as I wanted to. In my head, I have a huge list of things I want to get done….whether they really need to be or not. I might not have washed the walls and cleaned the tiny details around the  house that nobody else notices, but we did get everything that needed to be completed done. If I don’t include the nit picky stuff, we actually got everything done almost and hour before the party started. That is an amazing accomplishment considering we are usually running around like chickens with our heads chopped trying to get everything done before everyone comes.

Chocolate pudding Dalek cupcakes and my caramel apple style apple pie

My goal was to have any baking or food decorating done by noon. A couple of minutes after noon, I placed my caramel apple pie in the oven and was finished with any treats I needed to make. I am still amazed we got everything done. The whole party went as smooth as that. Everything moved right along, the decorations looked great, and the food was delish. I lost track of who gave her what during the gift opening, but if that was the worst that was going to happen…I can handle that.

Another view of the party room. We used her Hello Kitty birthday sign since we didn’t have anything else.

My little moment of the day was watching Mina walk around with a balloon tied around her waist. I don’t know how she started off with it tied around her in the first place. Once she had it on, she went the entire party with it like that. She even had a fit when Sophie wanted to sit a folding chair next to her because she was saving that spot for her balloon. It was so very adorable and funny. She climbed the bunk bed, opened gifts, and ate her food and cake with it like it wasn’t there. Periodically she would swat at it or play with it, but in general she walked around with it like it was a normal part of her outfit that day. You gotta love the silly things kids do. She placed so much value on hauling that balloon around.

My Tardis cake made out of carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and homemade fondant

I am really struggling to keep my eyes open. I have learned that I am getting too old to stay up to the wee hours and then wake up early to cram in a ton of stuff the next day. I am so happy that the Doctor Who party went well….even though only my best friend really knew who Doctor Who was. Those who did not know still could appreciate the amount of work we put into creating the decorations ourselves. Brad’s Tardis was astounding. We even had a couple of siblings that drove long distances to come today. It was great to see family and enjoy the our company today. Now I am going to go to bed…finally.

6 thoughts on “My Mina’s Doctor Who Birthday Party

  1. Happy birthday to Mena! That looks like a fantastic party. I can only imagine the work that must’ve went into preparing all these things. And the food looks awesome. I love how that cake looks! =D

    • Thanks! It was a lot of work, but everything turned out so great. The Tardis cake, Dalek cupcakes, and apple pie were so yummy.

  2. This might be the coolest thing I’ve ever seen! The amount of work you did to make this happen is huge. I greatly admire your skill, I love to cook and cater, but have no creativity or skill when it comes to decorating and the like. Kudos to you!

    • Thank you so very much! It always end up where we are making half or more of the decorations. I love making the cakes too. I would be happy baking stuff all day in the kitchen….I love making sweets. Between the decorations and my making the cakes and treats, we save a bunch of money….and spend a ton of time lol.

    • I really loved how it turned out. I think I enjoy decorating and making the treats & cakes for the parties as much as the kids enjoy the parties. Our Wizard of Oz party and Cinderella parties were the best 🙂

Leave a comment